Current Affairs November 08, 2018

1. Which Indian shooter has won the historic men’s skeet gold at the Asian Shotgun Championship 2018 in Kuwait ?

         1) Angad Vir Singh Bajwa
         2) Hriday Hazarika
         3) Arjun Babuta
         4) Saurabh Chaudhary
         5) None of these

Answer – 1 ) Angad Vir Singh Bajwa

Explanation: In the 8th Asian Shotgun Championship 2018 in Kuwait, Angad Vir Singh Bajwa has won the men’s skeet gold with a perfect score of 60 — a World record — in the final on November 7. Angad shot a perfect 60 out of 60 in the final round to claim top spot ahead of Chinas Di Jin who shot 58. With this, he became the first Indian skeet shooter to win a continental or world level event.

2. On 7th November 2018, Which district was renamed as Ayodhya by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath ?

        1) Allahabad
        2) Ghaziabad
        3) Faizabad
        4) Kanpur
        5) None of these

Answer – 3 ) Faizabad

Explanation: On November 7, 2018, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath renamed Faizabad as Ayodhya, the birthplace of Lord Ram.  He also announced a medical college that would be named after Lord Ram’s father in the epic Ramayana, Raja Dashrath. The Faizabad district comprises the twin towns of Faizabad and Ayodhya on the banks of the river Saryu.

3. Who has been appointed the new chairman of Citigroup ?

         1) Carlos Sollis
         2) John Dugan
         3) Tom Scavo
         4) Carmen Hecter
         5) None of these

Answer – 4 ) John Dugan

Explanation: Citigroup has appointed John Dugan, a former comptroller of the currency, as its new chairman. John Dugan is 63 years old. He was comptroller of the currency from 2005 to 2010. He had served as counsel to the Senate banking committee and as an official at the Treasury department. He also served on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision from 2007 to 2009.John Dugan has been on Citi’s board for more than a year.

4. U.S. grants temporary Iran oil waivers to how many countries ?

         1) 8
         2) 12
         3) 5
         4) 15
         5) None of these

Answer – ) 8

Explanation: Eight countries namely, India, China, Italy, Greece, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Turkey have been granted exemptions by United States, allowing them to temporarily continue buying Iranian oil. These countries have been exempted as they significantly reduced their imports of Iranian oil.

5. Which of the following countries have recently exempted by United States for buying Iranian oil ?

         1) India, Italy and Turkey
         2) China, Taiwan and Greece
         3) Japan, South Korea and India
         4) All the above

Answer – ) All of the above

Explanation: On November 5, the United States imposed the toughest ever sanctions on Iran aimed at altering the Iranian regime’s “behaviour”. The sanctions cover Iran’s banking and energy sectors and reinstate penalties for countries and companies in Europe, Asia and elsewhere that do not halt Iranian oil imports. The United States has exempted India from imposition of certain sanctions for the development of the strategically-located Chabahar Port in Iran, along with the construction of the railway line connecting it with Afghanistan. However, 8 countries India, China, Italy, Greece, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Turkey were temporarily allowed to continue buying Iranian oil as they showed “significant reduction” in oil purchase from the Persian Gulf country.

6. Name the Indian actor who was honoured as a ‘Distinguished Fellow’ by IndiaGlobal, at the 3rd IndiaGlobal Summit held at MIT Sloan School of Management in Boston, United States, on 3rd November 2018 ?

         1) Anupam Kher
         2) Amitabh Bachchan
         3) Shah Rukh Khan
         4) Kamal Hassan
         5) None of these

Answer – ) Anupam Kher

Explanation: On November 3, 2018, Veteran actor Anupam Kher was honoured as a ‘Distinguished Fellow’ by IndiaGlobal. The fellowship was given at the 3rd IndiaGlobal Summit was held at the prestigious MIT Sloan School of Management in Boston. He is a former chairman of the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII). The event was facilitated by MIT Sloan India Business Club.

7. Ola has officially launched operations in which of the following country after UK, Australia ?

         1) New Zealand
         2) Singapore
         3) Germany
         4) Canada
         5) None of these

Answer – ) New Zealand

Explanation: Bengaluru-based cab aggregator Ola has officially launched operations in New Zealand, offering ride services in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. Ola claims to have over 125 million users in India, Australia, and the UK. It comes after Ola launched operations in Australia and the UK in January and August respectively.

8. On November 7, 2018, Home Ministry released Rs. 113.36 crore to 6 border states namely Assam, Nagaland, Sikkim, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand, under the Border Area Development Programme (BADP) ?

         1)  Rs 113.36 crore
         2) Rs 567.75 crore
         3) Rs 220.75 crore
         4) Rs 456.98 crore
         5) None of these

Answer – ) Rs 113.36 crore

Explanation: On November 7, 2018, the Home Ministry released Rs. 113.36 crore to 6 border states under the Border Area Development Programme (BADP). Earlier, in September 2018, the centre released Rs.399.24 crore for 10 states along the international borders under this programme.The amount released in 2017-18 was Rs. 1,100-crore. With this release the total amount released so far during this fiscal to the States having International Border is Rs. 637.98 crore. The 6 states where the amount was released were: Assam, Nagaland, Sikkim, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.

9. Who became the first cricketer in history to score 4 T20 hundreds ?

         1) David Warner
         2) Virat Kohli
         3) Steven Smith
         4) Rohit Sharma
         5) None of these

Answer – ) Rohit Sharma

Explanation: Rohit Sharma has become India’s highest run-scorer in T20 international cricket. He has scored 2203 runs in 86 T20 matches. He also scored three double hundreds in one-day internationals. Rohit Sharma has also scored 4 centuries in T20I format.

10. Who has been elected the new President of International Boxing Association (AIBA) ?

         1) P S Bopanna
         2) Will Smith
         3) Thomas Bach
         4) Gafur Rakhimov
         5) None of these

Answer – ) Gafur Rakhimov

Explanation: Gafur Rakhimov, an Uzbek businessman and sports administrator, has been elected as the new President of the International Boxing Association (AIBA), which is an amateur boxings global governing body.  Its headquarters is located at Lausanne, Switzerland. AIBA is a sport organization that sanctions amateur (Olympic-style) boxing matches and awards world and subordinate championships.